Cats, Cats, Cats!

St. Patrick may get all the credit, but today is also St. Gertrude’s Day, the patron saint of cats!

st_gert

And, interestingly, of mental illness. St. Gertrude, the holy crazy cat lady!

 

 

 

 

As for me, I’m a cat person. I like other critters, too, but cats are my favorite. I love cats. I love every kind of cat. I want to hug all the cats. Etc.

I’ve been joking for years that I’m in training to become a crazy cat lady, a joke that suddenly isn’t such a joke any more as I face a divorce and move and general whole-life overhaul and upheaval.

Finding a new place that will accept me and my houseful, being able to keep them in kibble and warms and ‘nip, is my biggest current concern as I venture out into this new start. I’ve even launched an only-semi-joking fundraiser for the occasion. And a new blog to go with it.

So, maybe it’s time to start lighting some candles for St. Gertrude, huh?

Cats also feature in much of my writing — Larrah the Blind, in “Urgent Care,” has Grimalkin … a cat sings soprano for the upcoming “Arkham Town Musicians” … Theresa Zane in the Trinity Bay books had a cat named Jack long before I did … in my Silver Doorway series for younger readers, there’s Aunt Ellie’s magical familiar, Chester the talking cat … and more.

Cats are also the focus in “Ninesight,” my newest story just published in this fine anthology:

RESONATOR_cover_ebook-188x300

 

RESONATOR: New Lovecraftian Tales From Beyond

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s an excerpt:

Why did the kitties do their staring-at-nothing thing?

Then sometimes get all weird and go racing-chasing around?

Aunt Vera, when asked, had only shrugged and said it was because they were cats and all cats were a little bit crazypants. Mel figured she was probably right, but, it was more fun to treat it like a real mystery.

Cats could see super-good, way better than people, especially in the dark. Maybe nine whole times better; ninesight to go with nine-lives. What if they could see more, not just better? What if they really could see things that the rest of them didn’t even know were there?

